V. and S. Williams Interview

US Serena Williams (R) talks to her sister and teammate Venus during their doubles tennis match of the 2008 Wimbledon championships against India's Sania Mirza and US Bethanie Mattek at The All England Tennis Club in southwest London, on July 2, 2008.       AFP PHOTO / Carl De Souza (Photo credit should read CARL DE SOUZA/AFP/Getty Images)

-Venus and Serena Williams def. Bethanie Mattek and Sania Mirza, 6-4, 6-3 –

Q. How would you describe the relationship between you and the bond you two have?

VENUS WILLIAMS: Well, I think we have a great relationship. We really support each other and we’re there for each other no matter what.

I think that’s what sisters are about, so we definitely are role models for each other. We’re extremely motivated by each other, win or loss, on or off the court.

Q. Serena?

SERENA WILLIAMS: I completely zoned out. I don’t even remember the question.

Q. What inspires you most that you see in Venus?

SERENA WILLIAMS: You know, just everything that she does inspires me.

Q. And, Venus, about Serena?

VENUS WILLIAMS: Well, I think she’s really fearless, and I learned a lot from her on that.

Q. Do you feel like you were kind of the spoiled baby of the family?

SERENA WILLIAMS: Totally, for sure. It’s perfect. I love it.

Q. Can you tell us a little about your domestic arrangement here. Are you cooking for each other, sleeping back to back? What’s the setup?

SERENA WILLIAMS: Well, we just live together. We don’t do any cooking. I usually do all the cooking in Florida for her.

VENUS WILLIAMS: I don’t cook.

SERENA WILLIAMS: But here we haven’t done too much cooking. We just eat out every night, get take away, watch TV.

VENUS WILLIAMS: Yeah, you cooked last year more.

SERENA WILLIAMS: I cooked a lot last year, not this year.

Q. Could you imagine where you would be in your lives if your father hadn’t introduced you to tennis?

SERENA WILLIAMS: Well, I would do whatever she would be doing, so…

VENUS WILLIAMS: I would have been in college, I would have probably been modeling, and then I probably would have been a music producer and a choreographer.

Q. Serena, you mentioned you normally get what you want in the family relationship. Do you think that will extend to the singles title?

SERENA WILLIAMS: I’m gonna hope so, but I doubt it.

MORE, CLIK!

Leave a Reply

