L. Davenport Interview – 26 June

Q. When you finished with the press conference here Tuesday, what did you need to do with your knee? What was the procedure from that point on?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: Yeah, after my match a couple days ago from – literally straight from the press conference – I went to the hospital and did an MRI, which came out looking actually good.

The cartilage looks good. All the structure looks fine, the ligaments, the tendons. It just showed I had some inflammation and some fluid behind the kneecap, which my first thought was like major relief. It had nothing to do with my previous surgery on my knee. No immediate danger. It was just really inflamed and painful.

So wanted to give it a rest all day yesterday. Did treatment twice. Wanted to see how I pulled up today in warmup. After warming up, I felt like I was about 25, maybe 30 percent. In a first, second round match, it’s just not good enough. It’s not going to get better the more I play on it.

Q. How did the 25 to 30 percent manifest itself? What was the level of pain?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: Yeah, I mean, I was a genius if the ball was in the middle of the court in warmup. As soon as it was like four feet either side, I could get there, I couldn’t push it off to get back into the middle of the court.

I toyed with the idea of going out because it didn’t hurt at all to serve. It’s obviously not an easy decision to make. 

But, you know, at a certain point, it’s the second round, and I feel like I want to be a hundred percent and have a chance to win, not just hope to get by one more round or one more set. My knee just wasn’t going to allow that to happen today.

Q. Disappointing when you were ready to play?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: Yeah. I worked hard to get ready to play here. I was excited to get back here. If I learned anything over my career, I mean, this is the way it goes sometimes. I was like almost in tears the other night. I was so relieved it was nothing major, like doesn’t require surgery, it doesn’t impact my previous surgery.

So that actually put me in probably a better mood than I should be.

But for me it’s a huge relief. The diagnosis with, you know, three to four weeks, I should be fine.

Q. How much were you able to do yesterday?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I didn’t do anything.

Q. You’re not concerned about the Olympics then at this point?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I was 48 hours ago. But the doctors are very confident that the inflammation will go away and the pain will subside with that.

Q. What’s the previous surgery?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I had microfracture done on my tibial plateau in 2002. That had me out about eight months. Yeah, the MRI that I took two days ago was virtually the same as the last time I checked my knee in ’04, with the exception of the inflammation in my kneecap.

Q. You’re thinking three to four weeks of not doing anything?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I mean, I can do some stuff. I can’t be loading the knee, and that was the other concern with grass. You have to bend lower, put more stress loading, pushing back. So I’m not exactly sure.

The immediate goal was to try to get me ready to go on the court today. That didn’t happen. I’m sure we’ll go over a more long-term game plan.

My understanding was — I don’t know if it was to play a tournament in three or four weeks. I’m not entirely clear on that.

Q. We’ve seen you get through 32 draws. Do you come out of this wondering if you really can get through a 128 draw, your body?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I don’t know. I’m not sure. I mean, I came into this with not a great knee, so I knew that going in. Unfortunately, made it worse in the first round, which I knew was a concern.

In some ways Grand Slams are a little bit easier because you always have that day off, if the weather behaves, and other times you’re playing every day.

But, yeah, I mean, there’s no question I’m a little bit older and a little bit more fragile than some other players.

But, you know, I’ll give it another chance in New York and see what happens.

Q. What are your plans after the Olympics and New York?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I have no plans, so I’m very shortsighted right now in my future, my goals.

It’s all about, you know, first obviously being a hundred percent for Beijing. Really looking forward to that. Then New York. Then no plans.

Q. It seems like just the other day you were a rookie coming onto the tour. You’ve had this long career. What are your thoughts about the shortness of so many careers these days, particularly Justine?

LINDSAY DAVENPORT: I mean, every player is an individual and goes about their career, their sport, whatever it is they choose to do, in their own unique way. For whatever reason I’ve been able to last a long time and still enjoy tennis and still like to play, still enjoy getting ready for the competition and all of that.

Other people feel like they give it all they have for five years, six years, whatever, seven years, and they have no more to give. You know, I think you just have to respect every person that is different.

I feel very fortunate that I’ve been able to have such a long career and have the opportunities a little bit later in my life when I’m a little bit more mature and a little bit of person than in my early 20s to experience it.

_____________________________________________________________

All the interview – Click

Leave a Reply

