A. Roddick Interview – 26 June

   Andy Roddick

Q. Last year when you talked to us here in this room after your last match you were pretty distraught. What is your feeling right now?

ANDY RODDICK: Uhm, you know, pretty distraught. But, I mean, you know, probably I don’t know what I am. Uhm, probably just disappointed.

You know, I literally I mean, you know, any chance I got I pretty much just choked it. So, you know, that’s tough to deal with, and that’s not something that you really want to do, you know.

So that’s probably that’s disappointing, you know. It’s not an easy thing to say, but it’s pretty much what happened.

I could sit here and try to dance around it all night, but, I mean, you guys watched it. It was what it was. It’s like you want something so bad you almost squeeze too tight.

Q. Did you feel you had clean shots at those three set points in the fourth?

ANDY RODDICK: Yeah. The guy hit average serves in the middle of the box at about 90 miles an hour. There’s no excuse. You know, if I consider myself, you know, a top player or whatever, you make those. You make those in your sleep.

And I just you know, I not only didn’t make them, there was nothing even positive in the misses.

Q. What were you trying to do with the flat footed shot you tapped back into the net?

ANDY RODDICK: Well, I mean, obviously I think you’re looking backhand there. I don’t know if you go forehand at all. That was probably a good play by him.

Once I was fooled. I was literally trying to make him play. I thought he was pretty tight also. That’s not the way you just got to reverse the mentality of putting it in and hoping he’s going to miss. I just didn’t make anything happen out there tonight. Zero, zero, zero.

Q. The kind of surplus of emotion you talking about something you learned how to handle in Davis Cup. Is this the one spot where it’s still hard for you to overcome?

ANDY RODDICK: No, I don’t know. I don’t know. You know, different scenario. Possibly. I mean, it’s twice in a row here that I’ve completely blanked. ’06, I was just playing like crap. But the last two years, I feel like I’ve actually been hitting the ball decent.

Obviously I didn’t have great preparation, but that doesn’t have anything to do with dumping the balls that I did tonight.

Q. Do you feel like you played like crap the whole match or just like crap on the big points?

ANDY RODDICK: I don’t know the stats. I probably won more total points, or I was winning more total points up until the last one or two. I mean, you know, when you feel like you’re playing bad and you’re still winning more points, I mean, it comes down to the big points.

I played just horrific shots on breakpoints both ways. He was a hundred percent on breakpoints, I was O for 58. I put myself in position to win that match in straight sets, you know. I served huge tonight. You know, I actually returned well in spots.

I don’t feel like it’s not like it’s not the same as ’06 where I couldn’t have hit the ball into an ocean from the beach. It was just the big moments. I blinked. You know, there’s no way of getting around that.

Q. After the match, was it more right away anger at yourself, disappointment, shock?

ANDY RODDICK: No, I don’t think it’s shock. I mean, you know if you do that you should lose. No one’s going to give you anything. Especially he’s played well before. I mean, he’s capable of playing well, especially when you give him opportunity after opportunity and kind of let him off the hook. I mean, that’s not shocking.

Angry and disappointed in myself? Absolutely, yeah.

___________________________________________________________

To read all the interview – Clik

Leave a Reply

